Protect Your Privacy... - Clean Your Computer From Unwanted Spy Software NOW! - Scan your PC for FREE!
Powered by MaxBlogPress  

General Spyware Archives


 Powered by Max Banner Ads 

If you still don’t have a Google Wave invite, you may want to be aware of the following while trying everything you can to obtain one.

We’re seeing quite a few programs being circulated in relation to Google Wave at the moment – some originate from script kiddy forums, others hail from parts unknown.

In both cases, these programs all claim to automatically generate a Google Wave invite.

Here’s an example of one such program lurching out of a leet hax site that’s already flagging up on virustotal with a low detection rate; very nice it looks too, lifting the content from this page here.

gwave1.jpg
Click to Enlarge

Of more concern, however, is something that’s been popping up on numerous forums over the last week or two in the form of what is likely XRumer assisted spamming. In each case, this person pops up on a site and claims to have been a longtime user, before offering up a program that will (of course) double up as a means of making some quick money while giving you all the Google Wave invites you could possibly want:

gwave2.gif
Click to Enlarge

Humorously – or not, as the case may be – the spammer hasn’t quite got the hang of this yet because if you look at the supposedly reassuring “virus scan” results they managed to leave in scan results that claim the file is infected!

Whoops. Anyway, the download location looks even more suspicious when you’re taken to a site that contains text files of the forum spam listed above, spam related keywords and an XRumer instruction manual.

gwave3.gif

Fire up the program, and you’re presented with this:

gwave4.gif
Click to Enlarge

Note that it asks for an email address and password, which is highly dubious – worst case scenario, end users could unthinkingly send a current email / password combination into the wide blue yonder with no idea who is at the other end. Should you hit the “Generate Invite” button, the program promptly crashes…a favourite ploy of programs that claim to give you the Earth and everthing in it, but suffer a last minute technical hitch while they get up to mischief in the background.

Should you take a quick look at the real VirusTotal scan results, it’s clear there are some strange things afoot with 12 out of 41 security vendors detecting this program as a threat.

gwave5.gif
Click to Enlarge

While I haven’t had nearly as much time examining this file as I’d like, all of the above is more than enough to have me strongly advise against downloading / running this program – or indeed, any of the tools currently in circulation claiming to get you quick access to Google Wave.

Patience is most definitely a virtue, and it might just be a PC saver too…

Share and Enjoy:
  • Digg
  • Bumpzee
  • del.icio.us
  • Facebook
  • Furl
  • Mixx
  • NewsVine
  • Reddit
  • StumbleUpon
  • YahooMyWeb
  • Google Bookmarks

 Powered by Max Banner Ads 

thejihadhotline.jpg

Don’t panic, mad bombers aren’t giving you courtesy calls.

It seems this number:

08456021111

…is some sort of BT operated SMS service, however there seem to have been some issues with it in the past and it seems likely the same thing is happening now. According to some random people on the internet, calling 0800 587 5252 and then choosing options 1 and 5 seems to block this “service”. Of course, you could leave it alone and be the recipient of humour mines such as the following…

“With finger on the cancel call button it was pressed as soon as I heard Irish prosti..”

Oh dear.

Share and Enjoy:
  • Digg
  • Bumpzee
  • del.icio.us
  • Facebook
  • Furl
  • Mixx
  • NewsVine
  • Reddit
  • StumbleUpon
  • YahooMyWeb
  • Google Bookmarks

 Powered by Max Banner Ads 

Not so long ago, I wrote about a site called megasecuredownload.com, which faked a bunch of AV scans so you’d download their file, run it and have yourself a very bad day.

There’s another site currently being promoted on video sharing sites such as Youtube, aimed squarely at owners of Playstation 3 consoles.

As ever, it’s a case of “something for nothing”. They’re pimping Playstation network $20 generator programs that look like this:

psnfakezgenz1.jpg

Click to Enlarge

The site this time around is safetransferonline.com, and looks identical to the site covered here (complete with fake “this program is safe” AV results):


Megasecuredownload.com, originally uploaded by Paperghost.

You definitely won’t end up with anything as awesome as a free money generating program, so feel free to stick this one on your ever growing blocklist…

Share and Enjoy:
  • Digg
  • Bumpzee
  • del.icio.us
  • Facebook
  • Furl
  • Mixx
  • NewsVine
  • Reddit
  • StumbleUpon
  • YahooMyWeb
  • Google Bookmarks
 Page 1 of 207  1  2  3  4  5 » ...  Last »